Friends of the War Museum

Mask group
friends 01 1

The Friends of The War Museum Society was created on 24 February 1989 as a need had arisen for closer liaison between the Museum and people interested in the Anglo-Boer War.

The objectives of the society are:

  • to create a platform for liaison between the Museum and people interested in the ABW,
  • to promote Museum functions, sources, services and needs,
  • to have regular meetings at the Museum, where informative lectures are presented, as well as regular trips and tours to battlefields,
  • to promote the collection and documentation of information and the maintenance of heritage sites and tourist attractions.

Contact details



Friends of the War Museum
PO Box 34061


Bloemfontein Branch

Chairman: Dr Eben Proos , 072 221 31057,

Secretary: Louis Venter , 076 861 9653,


Cape Town Branch

Chairman: Peter Greeff ,
082 423 4606,

Secretary: Chris Pretorius ,


Pretoria Branch

Chairperson: Brigadier Generaal
Albert Jansen, 082 447 4642

Secretary: Louina Marais,
082 412 0854,

Follow friends of the War Museum